Alton Rugby Football Club

Presentations Day

Another fantastic season has drawn to a close and we enjoyed many highlights, including:-

  • a great balance of games, 5 development matches (all won), 13 friendlies, 6 League and 2 Sevens tournaments
  • real competition for places which produced a lot of individual improvement and strength in depth
  • a superb tour to Italy, completing tours of all 6 Nations, excellent fundraising efforts
  • Joe Gwyther and Ed Simmons both played for Hampshire and won places at the London Irish AASE programme
  • Joe Gwyther played for England North
  • 16 of our squad also played up for Colts this season and proved themselves
  • Runners up Alton 7's Cup
  • Winners New Milton 7's Cup
  • 4 new players all did well, integrated into the squad
  • fantastic attendance at training and for matches, despite it being a tough academic year

Overall playing record 2011-12, 15-a-side matches reveals that we were the hardest working squad in the entire club, many of our games were away as the Finnimore was being rebuilt.

27 16 1 10 122 65

The personal points table is as follows, note that 23 out of a squad of 29 scored points this season.

154 Will Hamer
70 Oscar Jermyn
65 Joe Gwyther, Adam Stoller
63 Ed Simmons
60 Ed Benn
35 Josh Smith
30 Charlie Rands, Kit Trigg
26 James Forrest
25 Ralph Andrews, Charlie Hibbert
15 Krishna Gurung, Dan Mortara, Ed Pasfield

Alex Adams, James Airey, Kieran Beardsall

5 Alex Heath, Doug Lowe, Joe Randall, Liam Sommers, Aaron Whatling

We hope that as many as possible wil progress on to Colts next season, we know they're all good enough!

The 4 player awards went as follows:-

PLAYERS' PLAYER AWARD - Ed Benn and Krishna Gurung

Based on the players' voting for man of the match throughout the season, this was shared by 2 of our new players, one forward and one back.

5 Ed Benn, Krishna Gurung
4 Oscar Jermyn, Adam Stoller
3 Charlie Hibbert, Josh Smith
2 Ralph Andrews, Ollie Brench, Charlie Rands, Ed Simmons, Aaron Whatling 
1 James Forrest, Will Hamer, Dan Mortara, Ed Pasfield

Shortlisted - Will Hamer, Alex Heath, Joe Michael, Dan Mortara, Aaron Whatling

ENDEAVOUR AWARD - The Carpe Diem Tour Squad
Shortlisted - Ollie Brench, Charlie Rands, James Airey, Tom Bugler, Josh Smith, Fonzy Ledesma

COACHES' AWARD - Joe Gwyther
Shortlisted - Ralph Andrews, Ed Benn, Ollie Brench, Krishna Gurung, Oscar Jermyn, Dan Mortara, Josh Smith, Adam Stoller


Go back